National Shrine

The National Shrine of Kappa Kappa Psi Fraternity is located on the campus of Oklahoma State University in a prominent position immediately west of the Classroom Building. Shaped as an irregular shaft a little over four feet in height, the Shrine is made of native Oklahoma pink granite. On its sloping polished top is a bronze plaque, and the three Greek letters, “Kappa,” “Kappa,” “Psi”.

The raised-letter inscription on the plaque reads as follows:

“Kappa Kappa Psi, National Honorary Band Fraternity, Founded at Oklahoma State University, 1919” and “Tau Beta Sigma National Honorary Band Sorority, Founded 1946.”
The National Shrine was formally dedicated on March 26, 1960. The ceremonies were attended by Charter Members of the Alpha Chapter of Kappa Kappa Psi, past National Presidents of the Fraternity, National Officers of both organizations, and administrators of Oklahoma State University. Ceremonies included wreath-layings, in memory of the founders of the Fraternity, by the current presidents of the Alpha Chapters and representatives of the National Councils of Kappa Kappa Psi and Tau Beta Sigma.

Dedicatory addresses were given by Donald I. Moore (Beta Alpha), past National President of Kappa Kappa Psi and Barbara Van Derbur (Beta Theta), National Second Vice President of Tau Beta Sigma. Accepting the monument on behalf of the University was Executive Vice President of Oklahoma State, Dr. Robert MacVicar. Charter members present for the occasion included: Clyde Haston, Iron Hawthorne Nelson, Carl Stevens, Richard Hurst, Clayton Soule, and A. Frank Martin. The program concluded with a concert by the Oklahoma State University Concert Band, Hiram Henry (Alpha) conducting.